Don’t forget to kiss your child goodnight when you put them to bed!

Don’t forget to kiss your child goodnight every night, otherwise it could be very costly, as I once found out. I had been to two interviews with a potential new employer, and was waiting for a phone call from the company to offer me the job. It was agreed that I would be called that evening.

I had just put my 3 year old child to bed when the phone rang. I rushed downstairs and grabbed the phone without thinking. I was so keen to be offered a new position. I picked up the phone and started speaking with the interviewer. After a couple of minutes, and when our conversation was in full flow, I heard “kiss me goodnight Daddy” being shouted out by my young child. It’s amazing how loud a child’s voice can be when they want something!

I tried to remain focussed on the call and continue ‘as normal’. Eventually after about 15 minutes of being distracted, (I thought the person on the other end of the phone couldn’t hear the shouting), the call was about to end. The person interviewing me said, “next time you should say goodnight to your child before you do a phone call like this”. I was shocked, and stumbled out some lame excuse, before saying goodbye to my interviewer.

I didn’t get the job, needless to say, so be warned!

 

Leave a Reply

