How do you find out what goes on in your Children’s lives when they are not with you? Introduce a simple routine at supper time for the whole family.

I’m sure that you have wondered about what happened today to your child. Why is he/she so quiet this evening? Why whenever you ask “how was your day?”, he/she says “fine”, and that’s the end of it! And it doesn’t matter what age your children are…….

I always thought this was a serious problem to solve, and I believe I have done this. It will definitely work for you with your children. This strategy helped me hugely when my children were younger, and it can help you. If you start right when your child is very young, it will continue to work for you as your child gets older and into the teenage years.

To start, you need to be very disciplined and encourage your child to participate. Every supper time when you all sit down together, play “Best and Worst”. This is when you all describe to the other family members the best part of your day and also the worst. Everyone is relaxed, so everyone is happy to do this, including you as their Dad.

While you all sit together, there is a captive audience, and you will be amazed at what you learn. I learnt about bullying at school, and my children learnt about what happened at my work. Your children are eager to know what you do, and love sharing with you what they do with you. Try it, and see what happens, and let me know what unexpected things you learn.

8 thoughts on “How do you find out what goes on in your Children’s lives when they are not with you? Introduce a simple routine at supper time for the whole family.

  1. This has definitely made me think. The above seems like common sense, but actually, I hadn’t thought about approaching this in a different way such as sitting down at the table and making it into a “fun” family discussion. I remember my mother asking me about my day when I was younger, and my response would always be a quite brief “it was ok”. As a parent now, I know I would love to hear more about my children’s days, and therefore the above little insight could actually prove quite helpful in finding a way to achieve this.

    Like

  2. as a father myself of a child with celebral palsy and also being a grandfather i totally appreciate the guidance that a book of this description can offer.
    Good luck and looking forward to it.
    Thomas Chrysostomou

    Like

  3. Thank you for your words of encouragement, and hopefully you will find many parts of my book helpful and interesting once it is published. If you would like regular updates of when I post new articles on my blog, please click the follow button. Thank you again

    Like

  4. Dear Mark,
    Having read the introductory blog I can see that it promises to be a great insight and reference point from a father’s lifetime occupation. Although not a parent myself, I can only envisage it to be a job that has many hurdles and challenges along it’s path, however with a publication such as this, that is based on experience, wisdom and dedication, the rewards will be that much clearer to gauge. Mark I wish you all the very best and look forward to reading the finished article. Warmest wishes Sunil

    Like

  5. I remember hearing about this about 12 years ago and was so impressed with the simplicity of it that I have never forgotten it. Although I don’t have children it made me think that this could be applied to any situation where people either live together or see each other regularly. How many problems could be sorted out within a caring, informal atmosphere without any added stress? I wish I had had the benefit of this strategy as a child.

    Like

Leave a Reply

